Posts Tagged ‘Fantasy’

The Sapphire Flute

The Sapphire Flute

The Sapphire Flute is the first book in the Wolfchild Saga by debut fantasy author Karen E. Hoover. It is a wonderfully original story and an exciting reading experience.

The book follows the separate stories of two teenage girls (Ember and Kayla) in a magical world called Rasaan. In this first installment of the series, there is no apparent connection between the two girls except for a shared enemy – an evil female mage called C’Tan — who, along with her minions, is desperately hunting both girls.

Ember is C’Tan’s niece and the daughter of a powerful mage. She is the prophesied Wolfchild — hidden by her mother since birth from C’Tan, since she could be a potential threat to C’Tan’s power.

Kayla is a supernaturally gifted musician who has been given stewardship of the Sapphire Flute, a powerful relic from the days of the Guardians, the creators of Rasaan. C’Tan wants the flute — and its power — for her own use.

What is particularly refreshing about Hoover’s story is that both protagonists and the antagonist are all female. High fantasy is a genre dominated by strong male characters. It is always a welcome change when powerful female characters take center stage. Robert Jordan accomplished it in his Eye of the World series, Brandon Sanderson created a compelling female hero in the Mistborn series, and now Karen Hoover has done a masterful job creating a triad of female lead characters, both good and evil, for the Wolfchild Saga.

Hoover has a very appealing writing style that pulls the reader effortlessly into the story. Her descriptions are vivid and emotional. The reader will feel what the characters feel, and thoroughly enjoy the experience.

The dialogue was smooth and natural, but at times seemed a bit informal and modern for high fantasy. Since this book is primarily targeted at young adult females, I imagine that the choice of language was intentional by the author, so that her readers could better relate to the characters. There were a handful of times in the story that I found the use of modern colloquialisms somewhat distracting, because they jarred me out of the story setting. Of course, I probably picked up on it only because I am an adult. The YA readers targeted by this series are much less likely to notice such things. On the contrary, they may find the usage of modern language comforting and familiar.

I loved the book. Although I am a man – not a YA girl – it kept me engaged and turning pages the whole way through. My ultimate test of the quality of a YA book is whether I would recommend it to my teenage daughter. In the case of The Sapphire Flute, the answer to that question is a resounding “YES.” I can hardly wait for the second book in the series. Karen Hoover deserves congratulations for a wonderful debut.

Price: $19.95
Publisher: Valor Publishing Group, LLC (March 16, 2010)
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Binding: Hardbound
Pages: 370 Language: English
ISBN-13: 978-1-935546-07-8
Karen’s blog: http://karen-hoover.blogspot.com


Read Full Post »

Farworld: Land KeepIn this sequel to Scott Savage’s first Farworld book (Water Keep), Marcus and Kyja continue their quest in Farworld: Land Keep to recruit a member of each of the four elementals in order to save Farworld by opening a gateway to Earth.

There is no lack of action or suspense in this new installment of the series. Moreover, Savage effectively raises the stakes and delivers a suspenseful fantasy thriller sequel where the villains are more evil, the monsters are scarier and the magic is more spectacular. Despite the intensity, it is certainly appropriate for any children ages eight and above.

I particularly like the “jumps” by Marcus and Kyja back and forth from high fantasy Farworld to current-day Earth. It reminds me of all the times when the crew of the starship Enterprise travel back in time and visit our era on earth. It’s jarring, yet fun to see our favorite fantasy characters in familiar real world surroundings.

As Marianne Moore so insightfully expressed it, poetry (or fantasy for that matter) is either real frogs in imaginary gardens, or imaginary frogs in real gardens. What Savage has deftly done in this series is combined those two paradigms into the same story. The chapters that take place on Earth give us the imaginary frogs in real gardens, whilst the chapters on Farworld treat us to real frogs in satisfyingly imaginary gardens.

What more could a reader ask? I loved the book.

Reading level: Ages 9-12
Hardcover: 374 pages
Publisher: Shadow Mountain (October 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-13: 978-1606411643

Read Full Post »